Forthy Eight

I thought I would answer some questions about myself to let you all get to know me a bit better.

What time did you wake up this morning? I'm actually really embarrassed to answer this question. But, this morning I woke up at 10:00 am. Literally, I did. BUT, I do have to say that I didn't even fall asleep until way past 2 AM. You see, I have this issue with my husband and his snoring. Therefore, I really don't sleep until he leaves the bed at 5:30 AM. I then can fall asleep soundly. Now, when school rolls around again, I am a walking zombie.

How do you like your steak? Medium rare if it’s a quality cut. I grew up in rural Iowa and we ate fresh meat. So, if the meat is not good and fresh, I simply can not eat it.

What was the last film you saw at the cinema? Brave - simply adorable!

What's your favorite TV show? That is a tough one! I LOVE TV {hello, I grew up in the 80's, although I should say that I was rarely allowed to watch TV as a child so I think I am addicted to television for that reason}. I only watch TV late at night after everyone else has gone to sleep {perhaps this is the reason for #1}. Right now, I'm really digging Girls on HBO. Hilarious! I also really like True Blood, The Big C, Nurse Jackie, The Borgias, The Killing, Game of Thrones, Being Human, Spartacus, American Horror Story, Breaking Bad, Hung, Shameless, Californication, Sons of Anarchy and Weeds. I see a theme going on here. I watch cable, not prime time. I can't stand commercials and I only watch what is recorded on my DVR. I never watch live TV. My DVR is COMPLETELY FULL because even though I adore all these shows, I hardly ever catch up and series sit on my DVR for months and months and months and my husband gets mad a deletes entire seasons on me! That is what I get.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? Europe - I don't care where, just somewhere in Europe so I could hop on a train every single weekend and see something new. There is something about Europe that is in my bones{my grandmother was born there}, it calls to me. I need to live there someday.

What did you have for breakfast? Well, since I got up so stinking late, I didn't even make a pot of coffee. However, I am not a breakfast eater, haven't been for decades. I like it simple, a cup of orange juice and a cup of decaf coffee. No caffeine for me.

What is your favorite food? Indian - I quite literally could eat anything with curry all day long, every single day of my life.

Foods you dislike? Anything from a can really, just gross. I think growing up in rural Iowa and eating what came from our gardens and farm ruined my palate. Not ruined in the sense that I can't taste anything, but ruined in that I won't eat canned goods, not even some frozen foods will pass these lips.

Favorite place to eat? Gorgeous restaurants on beaches in Asia!

Favorite dressing? Ranch dressing WITH Balsamic Vinegar, but I do adore a delicious poppy seed dressing as well.

What kind of vehicle do you drive? I drive an SUV, never a minivan. I absolutely refuse!

What are your favorite clothes? I love FUN, Whimsy clothes!

Where would you visit if you had the chance? I want to go back to Asia!

Cup 1/2 empty or 1/2 full? I'm most assuredly a 1/2 FULL kind of gal!

Where would you want to retire? Europe would be ideal. But I know that I could never leave the states where my children will likely be. So, wherever, they land, I shall follow.

Favorite time of day? I'm a night owl, so late at night, when everyone is asleep and I get the house to myself.

Where were you born? rural Iowa

What's your favorite sport to watch? Has to be LIVE baseball in downtown Chi-town. Can't beat a Cubs game- EVER!

What's your favorite fragrance? I don't think this is really a fragrance, more like my favorite thing to smell in the world: CILANTRO. I even have my girls addicted to this herb!

What's your favorite face cream? This is a tough one as well since I have developed horrible adult acne in the past 5 years. I don't use face cream, only "stuff" prescribed by my dermatologist.

Favorite baby/kids product? I am partial to Triple Paste for babies in diapers and I adored the Swaddle blanket {which I give to all my friend with new babes}.

People watcher? Heck yeah - isn't everyone?

Are you a morning person or night owl? TOTALLY a night owl. So NOT a morning person, don't speak to me really until I've been awake for at least an hour. I'm not too friendly.

Do you have any pets? My kiddos have a demon rabbit, fish and a parakeet. Only for the kiddos though, I'm really not a pet person, REALLY!

Any new/exciting news to share? My husband is going to be 50 years old soon! FIFTY people!

What did you want to be when you were little? So many different things really, I changed my mind often. Lawyer{I liked to argue everything}, teacher{guess this dream came true}, professional cheerleader{So very true and I did try out for the Chicago Bulls cheerleading team once and was called for a call back, but I chickened out!}, Statistician {I eventually became a Financial Analyst}.

What is your favorite memory? Always involving my lovely grandmother.

Are you a cat or dog person? Neither.

Are you married? Yep, I have been married for 11 1/2 years, together 14 years.

Always wear your seat belt? ALWAYS!

Been in a car accident? Terrible accident when I was a child, broke my nose, ruptured my spleen and appendix{NO seatbelt} AND another one in my 20's {seatbelt}.

Any pet peeves? People who spit in public - it really is just vile!

Favorite pizza toppings? Pepperoni, sausage and mushrooms (but fresh mushrooms, not canned).

Favorite flower? I really like lilies and calalillies.

Favorite ice cream? I'm not really a big fan of ice cream, but if you take me to Italy, I won't pass up any flavor of gelato!

Favorite fast food restaurant? McDonald's, but only their french fries!

How many times did you fail your driver's test? Never, but I didn't take the test until I was 18 {my parents would never let me drive or test}.

From whom did you get your last email? Another homeschooling momma.

Which store would you choose to max out your credit card? Do I have to pay the bill? {haha} I would love to go on a shopping spree at Nordstrom!

Do anything spontaneous lately?Since my brain is always foggy from lack ofsleep, I would say that is a big, fat NO!

Like your job? LOVE my job, wish I was paid more {haha}.

Broccoli? One of my fav vegetables, but it has to be fresh. I will settle for frozen though.

What was your favorite vacation? Wow, I have a couple. Pre-kiddos: Two glorious weeks in wonderful Italy. Post-kiddos: Two amazing weeks in Phuket, Thailand.

Last person you went out to dinner with? The family.

What are you listening to right now? My house is as silent as a graveyard.

What is your favorite color? I would say pink, but I mostly wear navy {go figure} and my house is pretty much painted every shade of tan possible.

How many tattoos do you have? Two, but am in the process of getting both of them lasered off. One is barely visible any longer and should be gone is a couple more {very painful} sessions. One more year to go on the other tattoo.

Coffee drinker? Yes, but decaf only. Caffeine makes the arteries in my neck pulse like mad.